Divine Champion


PRESTIGE CLASS: This class is not available at character creation and must be unlocked by meeting special requirements, listed below.

The divine champion is the strong right arm of their deity. They serve as a guardian of holy sites, a protector of pilgrims and a leader of crusades. Though paladins fill these roles in many good-aligned churchs, a divine champion can take up the banner of any deity, regardless of alignment or ethos. These holy warriors are loved by their patron’s worshipers and hated by the church’s enemies in equal measure. Most champions come from a combat or military background. Barbarians, fighters, paladins, and rangers are the most common candidates, though monks, clerics, and the more militant druids frequently pursue this path as well.



To qualify to become a Divine Champion, a character must fulfill all the following criteria.

  • Base Attack Bonus: +7
  • Feats: Weapon Focus (Any)

Class Skills


The class skills of the Divine Champion are:

  • Craft Alchemy
  • Craft Armor
  • Craft Trap
  • Craft Weapon
  • Lore
  • Parry

Class Features


Base Attack Bonus Progression: High

Skill Points at Each Level: 2 + Int modifier.

Hit Dice: D10

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: The Divine Champion gains no new proficiency with any armor or weapon.

Lay on Hands: Once per day, a 1st-level divine champion may lay on hands to heal damage equal to their Charisma bonus x their divine champion level. If the character already has a lay on hands ability (for example, thanks to paladin levels), their divine champion level and their class level in whatever other class gives them the lay on hands ability stack.

Bonus Feat: At 2nd level, the divine champion may select a bonus feat from the following list:

  • blind-fight
  • combat expertise
  • dodge
  • exotic weapon proficiency
  • extra turning
  • improved combat expertise
  • improved critical (any)
  • improved initiative
  • improved parry
  • weapon focus (any)

At their 4th, 6th, 8th, and 10th levels, the divine champion may choose another bonus feat from this list.

Sacred Defense: A divine champion of 2nd level gains a +1 sacred bonus on all saves. This bonus increases to +2 at 4th level, +3 at 6th level, +4 at 8th level, and +5 at 10th level.

Smite Infidel: At 3rd level, the divine champion gains the ability to make a special attack against creatures of differing Good/Evil alignments. When using Smite Infidel, the divine champion applies their Charisma modifier to their attack roll and their class level to the damage delivered. Smite Infidel may be used once per day.

Divine Wrath: At 5th level, once per day, the divine champion is capable of channeling the awesome fury of their patron deity, granting them considerable bonuses in combat. They gain damage reduction 5/- and a +3 sacred bonus on attack rolls, weapon damage, and saving throws. The divine fury lasts for one round per point of Charisma bonus the divine champion has.

Last updated byDispater