Of all the classes, the fighter has the best all around fighting capabilities (hence the name). Fighters are familiar with all the standard weapons and armors. In addition to general fighting prowess, each fighter develops particular specialties of his own. A given fighter may be especially capable with certain weapons; another might be trained to execute specific fancy maneuvers. As fighters gain experience, they get more opportunities to develop their fighting skills. Thanks to their focus on combat maneuvers, they can master the most difficult ones relatively quickly.



To qualify to become a Fighter, a character must fulfill all the following criteria.

  • Not Applicable:

Class Skills


The class skills of the Fighter are:

  • Climb
  • Craft: Armorsmithing
  • Craft: Weaponsmithing
  • Craft: Woodworking
  • Intimidate
  • Jump
  • Knowledge: Architecture & Engineering
  • Knowledge: Dungeoneering
  • Listen
  • Parry
  • Profession: Miner
  • Profession: Woodcutter
  • Spot
  • Survival
  • Swim
  • Taunt

Class Features


Hit Die: d10

Base Attack Bonus: High

High Saves: Fortitude

Weapon Proficiencies: Simple and martial weapons

Armor Proficiencies: All armor (light, medium, and heavy) and all shields (including tower shields)

Skill Points: 4 + Int modifier per level, x4 at first level

Bonus Feats: At 1st level, a fighter gets a bonus combat-oriented feat in addition to the feat that any 1st-level character gets and the bonus feat granted to a human character. The fighter gains an additional bonus feat at 2nd level and every two fighter levels thereafter (4th, 6th, 8th, 10th, 12th, 14th, 16th, 18th, and 20th). These bonus feats must be drawn from the feats noted as fighter bonus feats. A fighter must still meet all prerequisites for a bonus feat, including ability score and base attack bonus minimums.

Bravery: At 2nd level, a fighter gains a +1 bonus on Will saves against fear. This bonus increases by +1 for every four levels beyond 2nd.

Armor Training: Starting at 3rd level, a fighter learns to be more maneuverable while wearing armor. Whenever they are wearing armor, they reduce the armor check penalty by 1 (to a minimum of 0) and increase the maximum Dexterity bonus allowed by their armor by 1. Every four levels thereafter (7th, 11th, and 15th), these bonuses increase by +1 each time, to a maximum –4 reduction of the armor check penalty and a +4 increase of the maximum Dexterity bonus allowed.

Weapon Training: Starting at 5th level, whenever a fighter is wielding a weapon in which they have weapon focus, they gain an additional +1 bonus to their attack rolls. This bonus improves by 1 every four levels thereafter (9th, 13th, and 17th).

Armor Mastery: At 19th level, a fighter gains Damage Reduction 5/- whenever wearing armor or using a shield.

Weapon Mastery: At 20th level, a fighter chooses one weapon in which they have a weapon focus, such as the longsword, greataxe, or longbow. Any attacks have their damage multiplier increased by 1 (x2 becomes x3, for example). In addition, their threat range is increased by 2.

Last updated byDispater