PRESTIGE CLASS: This class is not available at character creation and must be unlocked by meeting special requirements, listed below.

Necromancy is usually a poor choice for arcane spellcasters — those who really want to master the deathless arts almost always pursue divine means. However, an alternative exists for those who desire power over undead but refuse to give up their arcane craft completely. Enter the pale master, who draws on a font of special lore that provides a macabre power all its own. Many pale masters still end up supplementing their arcane power with levels of divine magic. The mixture of “pale lore” and clerical abilities to sway, create, command, and destroy undead can be a potent one.



To qualify to become a Palemaster, a character must fulfill all the following criteria.

  • Alignment: Any Non-Good
  • Spellcasting: Ability to cast 3rd-level arcane spells

Class Skills


The class skills of the Palemaster are:

  • Concentration
  • Craft Alchemy
  • Craft Trap
  • Craft Weapon
  • Diplomacy
  • Heal
  • Hide
  • Listen
  • Lore
  • Move Silently
  • Spellcraft

Class Features


Base Attack Bonus Progression: Low

Skill Points at Each Level: 2 + Int modifier.

Hit Dice: D6

Weapon and Armor Proficiency: The Palemaster gains no new weapon or armor proficiencies.

Spells per Day / Spells Known: Beginning at 2nd level, a pale master gains new spells per day (and spells known, if applicable) as if he had also gained a level in an arcane spellcasting class to which he belonged before adding the prestige class level. He does not, however, gain any other benefi t a character of that class would have gained (improved chance of turning or destroying undead, metamagic or item creation feats, and so on). If he had more than one arcane spellcasting class before becoming a pale master, he must decide to which class to add each level for the purpose of determining spells per day and spells known.

Bone Skin: At 1st level, the pale master’s tough, cadaverous flesh gives them a +2 natural armor bonus to AC. This bonus increases to +4 at 4th level and +6 at 8th level.

Animate Dead: A 2nd-level pale master can use animate dead as a spell-like ability once per day.

Darkvision: At 3rd level, the pale master gains the ability to see in the dark.

Summon Undead: At 4th level, the pale master can use create undead as a spell-like ability once per day.

Deathless Vigor: At 5th level, the pale master gains a +4 bonus to their Fortitude saves.

Undead Graft: At 6th level, the pale master performs a horrific operation that replaces one of their arms with a supernaturally-animated, undead appendage. The pale master may make a touch attack with this arm that paralyzes the target twice per day. At 8th level, the pale master may use this touch attack three times per day.

Tough as Bone: At 7th level, the pale master becomes more and more like one of the implacable undead. They gain immunity to hold, paralysis, and stun effects.

Summon Greater Undead: At 9th level, the pale master can use create greater undead as a spell-like ability once per day.

Deathless Mastery: At the 10th level, the pale masters are practically undead creatures themselves. They gain immunity to critical hits.

Deathless Master’s Touch: At 10th level the pale master’s touch becomes deadly and can instantly kill a target. This ability may be used three times a day.

Last updated byDispater